Classics

People

  • faculty

  • Emily Anderson

    Emily S. K. Anderson

    Senior Lecturer
    PhD, Yale University

    410-516-5691 emily.anderson@jhu.edu Gilman 148

    Research Interests: Aegean and Eastern Mediterranean Bronze Age art and archaeology, material culture, sociocultural interaction, craft, glyptic

  • Richard Bett

    Professor, Philosophy and Classics
    PhD, University of California, Berkeley

    410-516-6863 rbett1@jhu.edu Gilman 202

    Research Interests: Ancient Greek philosophy

  • Christopher Celenza

    Christopher Celenza

    (On leave) Charles Homer Haskins Professor, German and Romance Languages and Literatures and Classics
    PhD, Duke University; DrPhil, University of Hamburg

    celenza@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Renaissance Latin, paleaeography, history of classical tradition

  • Silvia Montiglio

    Silvia Montiglio

    Basil L. Gildersleeve Professor of Classics and Director of Graduate Studies
    Doctorat, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales

    410-516-7563 smontig1@jhu.edu Gilman 194

    Research Interests: Greek literature and culture; the ancient novel; Homer; philosophy

  • Matthew Roller

    Matthew Roller

    Professor
    PhD, University of California, Berkeley

    410-516-5095 mroller@jhu.edu Gilman 102

    Research Interests: Latin literature; Roman social and cultural history; Graeco-Roman philosophy

  • Alan Shapiro

    H. Alan Shapiro

    Acting Chair, 2013-14, W.H. Collins Vickers Professor of Archaeology
    PhD, Princeton University

    410-516-8221 ashapiro@jhu.edu Gilman 190

    Research Interests: Greek and Roman art and archaeology; Greek iconography and religion

  • dimitrios-yatroman

    Dimitrios Yatromanolakis

    Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
    D.Phil., University of Oxford

    410-516-7557 yatroman@jhu.edu Gilman 104

    Research Interests: Greek papyrology; ancient Greek vase inscriptions; archaic and classical social and cultural history; ancient Greek vase painting; historical and comparative anthropology

Visiting Faculty

Genevieve Gessert
Adjunct Associate Professor (Fall 2013)
Associate Professor of Art & Archaeology, Hood College
Roman art and archaeology; reception of classical archaeology; Latin epigraphy; Hellenistic culture
410-516-8851
Office: Gilman 148
ggesser1@jhu.edu

Contributing Faculty

Sanchita Balachandran
Curator, JHU Archaeological Collection
Lecturer, Near Eastern Studies
Art and archaeological conservation
Office: Gilman 137
sanchita@jhu.edu

Richard Jasnow
Professor, Near Eastern Studies
Egyptology
rjasnow@jhu.edu

Herbert Kessler
Professor Emeritus, History of Art
Late Antique, Early Christian, and Byzantine Art History
herbkessler@earthlink.net

Gareth Schmeling
Fellow-by-Courtesy
Professor Emeritus, University of Florida
Latin: Petronius, Apuleius, Historia Apollonii; Greek: Chariton, Xenophon; ancient novel; textual criticism
gschmel1@jhu.edu

Emeriti

Marcel Detienne
Professor Emeritus
Mythology, religion, and social and cultural history of ancient Greece; classics and anthropology
marcel.detienne@orange.fr

Staff

Donald Juedes
Librarian
Milton S. Eisenhower Library
410-516-0605
djuedes@jhu.edu

Ginnie Miller
Department Administrator
Graduate Admissions Coordinator
410-516-7556
gmiller@jhu.edu

Frank Hallam
Information Technology Specialist
410-516-4760
fhallam@jhu.edu

Graduate Students

Michele Asuni
Classics
michele.asuni@jhu.edu
Laurea in Lettere Antiche, University of Pisa, 2010
Scholarly Interests: Greek literature, ancient vegetarianism, color in ancient Greece, ancient Greek philosophy (the Presocratics), ancient Greek painting

Ross Brendle
Classical Art and Archaeology
ross_brendle@jhu.edu
BA, History of Art, University of California, Berkeley, 2008
Scholarly Interests: Greek archaeology, vase painting, and iconography

Elisabeth Campbell
Classical Art and Archaeology
elisabeth.campbell@jhu.edu
BA, History, University of Bielefeld, Germany, 2005
Scholarly Interests: social and political history of the Roman Republic

Jacquelyn Clements
Classical Art and Archaeology
jclements1@jhu.edu
BFA, Painting and Art History, Maryland Institute College of Art, 2004
MA, Classical Archaeology, Florida State University, 2007
Scholarly Interests: Greek art, iconography, myth, and philosophy

Daniel Dooley
Classics
danieldooley@jhu.edu
BA, Classics, University of Virginia, 2008
Scholarly Interests: Greek historiography, historical linguistics

Laura Garofalo
Classical Art and Archaeology
lgarofa2@jhu.edu
BA, Classics, Northwestern University, 2008
Scholarly Interests: Roman social and cultural history, Greek and Roman art and material culture, ancient childhood and family life, commemorative and funerary contexts

Daniel S. Houston
Classics
dhousto6@jhu.edu
BA, Classics, University of Vermont, 2006
MA, Classics, University of Vermont, 2008
Scholarly Interests: textual transmission and criticism, historical linguistics, codicology and bibliography

Laura Hutchison
Classical Art and Archaeology
lhutch12@jhu.edu
BA, Art History, Hendrix College, 2008
MA, Art History, University of California, Davis, 2010
Scholarly Interests: Greek art and archaeology (sculpture, pottery, and cult)

Nicholas Kauffman
Classics
nicholas.kauffman@jhu.edu
BA, English, Hillsdale College, 2008
Scholarly Interests: Greek poetry and language, ancient critical theory

Jessica Lamont
Classical Art and Archaeology
jlamont2@jhu.edu
BA, Classics, Anthropology, The College of William and Mary, 2008
Scholarly Interests: Greek art and archaeology, Greek healing cults

Kristina Mueller
Classics
mmuell12@jhu.edu
BA, Latin/Greek, Free University Berlin, Germany, 2009
MA, Classics, Free University Berlin, Germany, 2011
Scholarly Interests: Latin literature and culture of the late Republic and the Early Empire

Shana O’Connell
Classical Art and Archaeology
shanaoc@gmail.com
BA, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Scholarly Interests: Roman art and archaeology

Timothy James Phin
Classics
tphin1@jhu.edu
BA, Ancient Studies, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 2004
Scholarly Interests: Roman social and cultural history, children and childhood in antiquity, Latin literature, ancient sexuality

Danilo Piana
Classics
danilo.piana@jhu.edu
Laurea in Lettere Classiche, Universit degli Studi di Genova, Italy, 2009
Scholarly Interests: Greek Archaic poetry, Golden and Silver Latin, textual criticism, classical and medieval philology, sounds and colors in antiquity

Anna Ellen Simpson Smith
Classics
asmit194@jhu.edu
BA, University of Michigan, 2013
Scholarly Interests: Latin Literature of the Late Republic and Early Empire, historiography, narratology

Timothy Smith
Classics
tsmit127@jhu.edu
BA, University of California, Los Angeles, 2010
Scholarly Interests: early Greek elegy, Greek lyric poetry and performance

Sarit Stern
Classics
sarit_stern@jhu.edu
BA, History, University of Tel Aviv, 2001
MA, Ancient History, University of Tel Aviv, 2005
Scholarly Interests: mythology and religion, comparative mythology, gender issues, literature in social context

Adam Tabeling
Classical Art and Archaeology
atabeli1@jhu.edu
BA, Anthropology and Classics, University of Colorado, 2011
Scholarly Interests: Roman architecture, Roman topography, and Roman sculpture

Robert Webber
Classics
rwebber5@jhu.edu
BA, University of Oregon, 2002
Scholarly Interests: ancient historiography, political and critical theory

Yuan Zhao
Classics
zyaug@jhu.edu
BA, Fudan University, 2005
MA, Fudan University, 2008
Scholarly Interests: Augustan poetry and historiography