Classics

People

  • faculty

  • Emily Anderson

    Emily S. K. Anderson

    Senior Lecturer, Classics and History of Art
    PhD, Yale University

    410-516-5691 emily.anderson@jhu.edu Gilman 148

    Research Interests: Aegean and Eastern Mediterranean Bronze Age art and archaeology, material culture, sociocultural interaction, craft, glyptic

  • Richard Bett

    Richard Bett

    Professor, Philosophy and Classics
    PhD, University of California, Berkeley

    410-516-6863 rbett1@jhu.edu Gilman 202

    Research Interests: Ancient Greek philosophy

  • Christopher Celenza

    Christopher Celenza

    Chair, Classics
    Charles Homer Haskins Professor, Classics and German and Romance Languages and Literatures
    Director of Undergraduate Studies
    PhD, Duke University; DrPhil, University of Hamburg

    410-516-0736 celenza@jhu.edu Gilman 106

    Research Interests: Renaissance Latin, paleography, history of classical tradition

  • Silvia Montiglio

    Silvia Montiglio

    Basil L. Gildersleeve Professor of Classics
    Director of Graduate Studies
    Doctorat, École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales

    410-516-7563 smontig1@jhu.edu Gilman 194

    Research Interests: Greek literature and culture; the ancient novel; Homer; philosophy

  • Matthew Roller

    Matthew Roller

    Professor
    PhD, University of California, Berkeley

    410-516-5095 mroller@jhu.edu Gilman 102

    Research Interests: Latin literature; Roman social and cultural history; Graeco-Roman philosophy

  • Alan Shapiro

    H. Alan Shapiro

    W. H. Collins Vickers Professor of Archaeology
    PhD, Princeton University

    410-516-8221 ashapiro@jhu.edu Gilman 190

    Research Interests: Greek and Roman art and archaeology; Greek iconography and religion

  • dimitrios-yatroman

    Dimitrios Yatromanolakis

    Associate Professor
    D.Phil., University of Oxford

    410-516-7557 yatroman@jhu.edu Gilman 104

    Research Interests: Greek papyrology; ancient Greek vase inscriptions; archaic and classical social and cultural history; ancient Greek vase painting; historical and comparative anthropology

Visiting Faculty

Genevieve Gessert
Adjunct Associate Professor (Fall 2014)
Associate Professor of Art & Archaeology, Hood College
Roman art and archaeology; reception of classical archaeology; Latin epigraphy; Hellenistic culture
410-516-8851
Office: Gilman 148
ggesser1@jhu.edu

Contributing Faculty

Sanchita Balachandran
Curator, JHU Archaeological Collection
Lecturer, Near Eastern Studies
Art and archaeological conservation
Office: Gilman 137
sanchita@jhu.edu

Richard Jasnow
Professor, Near Eastern Studies
Egyptology
rjasnow@jhu.edu

Herbert Kessler
Professor Emeritus, History of Art
Late Antique, Early Christian, and Byzantine Art History
herbkessler@earthlink.net

Gareth Schmeling
Fellow-by-Courtesy
Professor Emeritus, University of Florida
Latin: Petronius, Apuleius, Historia Apollonii; Greek: Chariton, Xenophon; ancient novel; textual criticism
gschmel1@jhu.edu

Emeritus

Marcel Detienne
Professor Emeritus
Mythology, religion, and social and cultural history of ancient Greece; classics and anthropology
marcel.detienne@orange.fr

Staff

Donald Juedes
Librarian
Milton S. Eisenhower Library
410-516-0605
djuedes@jhu.edu

Ginnie Miller
Department Administrator
Graduate Admissions Coordinator
410-516-7556
gmiller@jhu.edu

Frank Hallam
Information Technology Specialist
410-516-4760
fhallam@jhu.edu